top of page

2022 APSAC Award Winners
(Work completed in 2021)

Mark Chaffin Research Career Achievement

This award recognizes an APSAC member who has made repeated significant and outstanding contributions to research on child maltreatment over his or her career.

Andrea Sedlak, PhD

Vice President, Westat

Nominator: Theodore Cross, PhD


Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes a member for outstanding contributions to the field of child maltreatment and to the advancement of APSAC's goals.

Kathleen Faller, PhD, ACSW

Marion Elizabeth Blue Endowed Professor

Emerita of Children and Families in the School of Social Work

Director, Family Assessment Clinic University of Michigan

Nominator: David L. Corwin, MD


Outstanding Frontline Professional

This award recognizes a front-line professional (e.g. child protection worker, law enforcement personnel, mental health counselor or medical professional) who demonstrates extraordinary dedication and skill in his or her direct care efforts on behalf of children and families.

Angela Essenburg, PhD.

Forensic Interviewer, Voices for Children Advocacy Center

Nominator: Claudnyse D. Holloman, Esq.

APSAC Prevention Award 

This Award recognizes a practitioner or researcher, an agency, or an institution that has made outstanding contributions to the field of  prevention of child maltreatment and to the advancement of APSAC’s goals.

Melissa Medrrick, PhD

President & CEO, Prevent Child Abuse America

Nominator: Bart Klika, PhD, MSW

Lolita McDavid, MD, MPA

Medical Director, Child Advocacy and Protection, University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Professor, CWRU School of Medicine

Nominator: Stacie LeBlanc, JD, MEd

Child Maltreatment Article of the Year 

This award is presented in recognition of the very best article, as  selected by the editorial staff, which appears in Child Maltreatment.

Isha Metzger, PhD, LPC; Riana Elyse Anderson, PhD, LPC; Funlola Are, PhD; Tiarney Ritchwood, PhD

The Cumulative Prevalence of Termination of Parental Rights for U.S. Children 2006-2016

Nominator: Child Maltreatment Editorial Board 

Outstanding Media Coverage

This award recognizes newsprint, broadcast journalism, or media coverage of child maltreatment issues which shows exceptional knowledge, insight and sensitivity.

Joshua Overbay, MFA & Andi Mortenlander, MFA

Justice Film Collective

Spare the Child - Producer

Nominator: Darrell Armstrong, EdS-MFT, MDiv, DDiv

Outstanding Service in the Advancement of Cultural Competency in Child Maltreatment Prevention and Intervention

This Award recognizes an individual, organization or agency that has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of cultural competency in child maltreatment prevention and intervention.

Corey B. Best

Founder, Mining for Gold

Racial Justice Coach for seven Early Learning Coalitions across Central Florida

Nominator: Morgan Cooley, PhD, LCSW

Joyce Thomas, RN, MPH, ​PNP, FAAN

Co-Founder & President, Center for Child Protection and Family Support, Inc. of Washington DC

Nominator: Stacie LeBlanc, JD, MEd

Outstanding Service to APSAC

This award recognizes a member who has made substantial contributions to APSAC through leadership and service to the Society.

Stacie LeBlanc, JD, MEd

APSAC President

Co-Founder, The UP Institute

Executive Director, UP for Champions

Nominator: Ernestine C. Briggs-King, PhD & Viola Vaughan-Eden, PhD, MJ, MSW

bottom of page