top of page

Awards Presented by APSAC During its Annual Colloquium

The American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC) recognized outstanding service and commitment within the field of child maltreatment during its Annual Colloquium, June 25-28, 2013, Las Vegas, Nevada. Awards were presented at the Awards Ceremony and William Friedrich Memorial Lecture. Below is a list of awards presented and the recipients.

Outstanding Service (The Award recognizes a member who has made substantial contributions to APSAC through leadership and service to the society.)

  • George Ryan, Investigator, State of North Carolina

Outstanding Professional (The Award recognizes a member who has made outstanding contributions to the field of child maltreatment and the advancement of APSAC’s goals.) ·

  • Erna Olafson, PhD, PsyD, Department of Psychiatry, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Outstanding Research Career Achievement (The Award recognizes an APSAC member who has made repeated, significant and outstanding contributions to research on child maltreatment over her or his career.)

  • Sheree L. Toth, PhD, Mt. Hope Family Center, University of Rochester

Outstanding Service in the Advancement of Cultural Competency in Child Maltreatment Prevention and Intervention (The Award recognizes an individual, organization or agency that has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of cultural competency in child maltreatment prevention and intervention.)

  • National Center for Cultural Competence at Georgetown University, Washington, DC

Outstanding Front Line Professional (The Award recognizes a front-line professional, e.g. child protection worker, law enforcement personnel, mental health counselor or medical professional, who demonstrates extraordinary dedication and skill in his or her direct care efforts on behalf of children and families.)

  • Huda IbrahimAlmutlaq, MD, Maternity and Children’s Hospital, East Province, Saudi Arabia

  • George Edwards, MD, UT, Southwestern Austin, Dell Children’s Medical Center

Outstanding Media Coverage (The Award recognizes a reporter or team of reporters in newsprint or broadcast journalism whose coverage of child maltreatment issues shows exceptional knowledge, insight and sensitivity.)

  • Harriet Ryan and Victoria Kim, Los Angeles Times (more)

Outstanding Research Article (The award recognizes the authors of a research article judged to be a significant advancement to the field of child maltreatment.)

  • Dante Cicchetti, PhD, Institute of Child Development, University of Minnesota; and Fred Rogosch, PhD, Mt. Hope Family Center, University of Rochester

Gene Environment Interaction and Resilience: Effects of Child Maltreatment and Serotonin, Corticotropin Releasing Hormone, Dopamine, and Oxytocin Genes

  • Carla Kmett Danielson, PhD, National Crime Victims Treatment & Research Center, Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

Reducing Substance Use Risk and Mental Health Problems Among Sexually Assaulted Adolescents: A Pilot Randomized Controlled Trial

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation (The award recognizes an individual whose dissertation has the greatest potential for making a significant contribution to the child maltreatment theoretical and applied knowledge base.)

  • Stacia Stolzenberg, PhD, Child Development Lab, USC Gould School of Law

Outstanding Article in the Journal of Child Maltreatment (The Award recognizing the authors of a research article judged to be a significant advancement to the field of child maltreatment.)

  • Laura J. Proctor; Gregory A. Aarons; Howard Dubowitz; Diana J. English; Terri Lewis; Richard Thompson; Jon M. Hussey; Alan J. Litrownik; Scott C. Roesch

Trajectories of Maltreatment Re-Reports from Ages 4 to 12: Evidence for Persistent Risk After Early Exposure

Ronald C. Laney Distinguished Service Award (The Award is presented on a periodic and exceptional basis by the APSAC Board of Directors to an individual who has exhibited a life time of service to others as exemplified by Ron C. Laney.)

  • Barbara L. Bonner, PhD, University of Oklahoma, Health Sciences Center

William Friedrich Memorial Award (The Award is presented by the APSAC Board of Directors to an individual who has demonstrated a career that exemplifies the achievements and character of the late William Friedrich.)

  • Randell C. Alexander, MD, PhD, University of Florida, Dept. of Pediatrics


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page