top of page

Nominate a Colleague for the 2020 APSAC Awards | Deadline April 3, 2021

The APSAC’s Awards Committee seeks nominations for the 2020 APSAC Awards, to be presented in 2021 at the 28th APSAC Colloquium, July 12-15, 2021. The award ceremony will be a virtual event during the Colloquium. We encourage APSAC members to nominate deserving colleagues. This is a great opportunity to recognize the outstanding professional, service, or research contributions of colleagues to the field of child maltreatment!

How To Submit

Please feel free to circulate this letter and the description of the awards below to your colleagues. To submit, please send this submissions form, brief letter of introduction, and nominee’s curriculum vitae to Jane Campbell at

These awards honor member contributions to APSAC and member and non-member contributions to the field of child maltreatment. Award categories include: Research Career Achievement, Prevention, Front Line Professional, Service to APSAC, Professional Contributions to APSAC, Media Coverage, Research Article, Doctoral Dissertation, and Service and Advancement of Cultural Competency in Child Maltreatment Prevention and Intervention. Please click here to review a list of past recipients.

Please take a few minutes to submit a letter, nomination form, and nominee’s curriculum vitae. Feel free to contact us with questions.

Submission Form Here

2020 APSAC Award Categories

Outstanding Service The Award recognizes a member who has made substantial contributions to APSAC through leadership and service to the Society. David L. Chadwick Outstanding Professional in Child Maltreatment The Award recognizes a member who has made outstanding contributions to the field of child maltreatment and the advancement of APSAC’s goals. Mark Chaffin Outstanding Research Career Achievement The Award recognizes an APSAC member who has made repeated, significant and outstanding contributions to research on child maltreatment over her or his career. Outstanding Service and Advancement of Cultural Competency in Child Maltreatment Prevention and Intervention The Award recognizes an individual, organization or agency that has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of cultural competency in child maltreatment prevention and intervention. Outstanding Front Line Professional The Award recognizes a front-line professional (e.g. child protection worker, law enforcement personnel, mental health counselor or medical professional) who demonstrates extraordinary dedication and skill in his or her direct care or service efforts on behalf of children and families. Outstanding Media Coverage The Award recognizes a reporter or team of reporters in newsprint or broadcast journalism whose coverage of child maltreatment issues shows exceptional knowledge, insight and sensitivity. Outstanding Research Article The Award recognizes the authors of a research article judged to be a significant advancement to the field of child maltreatment. Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation The Award recognizes an individual whose dissertation has the greatest potential for making a significant contribution to the child maltreatment theoretical and applied knowledge base. Prevention Award The Award recognizes a practitioner or researcher, an agency, or an institution that has contributed to the field of prevention of child maltreatment and to the advancement of APSAC’s goals.

See the Awards page of the APSAC website for additional award categories

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page